Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Objects and Textures: Isometric View
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Objects and Textures: Isometric View
Subject Topic: Vue setup file for Isometric Objects Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
surfbored
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 01/08/2005
Posts: 576
Posted: 01/17/2006 at 6:41pm | IP Logged Quote surfbored

Anybody that has Vue, this file will show you what settings I used to create the isometric objects in the Isometric Art Pack.

If you don't have Vue, then this file isn't going to help you at all, sorry!

If you have trouble using the file, let me know. I'll try to help.



SB

9AB_Iso-setup.zip

Edited by surfbored on 01/17/2006 at 6:41pm
Back to Top View surfbored's Profile Search for other posts by surfbored
 
lizardman
Hireling
Hireling


Joined: 08/07/2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 2
Posted: 08/07/2006 at 12:17am | IP Logged Quote lizardman

Hi,

I've just found this forum! I was searching for a tutorial or guide on how to set up Vue for use to create isometric tiles! It's great to find something for that here however if I load your scene into Vue, the camera's rotation is correct but in the camera settings Pitch, Yaw and Roll are all 0.00.
I'd love to know what values you used to create the isometric camera!

In any way thanks,
Lizardman
Back to Top View lizardman's Profile Search for other posts by lizardman
 
Kepli
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16312
Posted: 08/07/2006 at 11:03pm | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Welcome aboard Lizardman

I have used this scene a few times already and am very happy with the settings. I would also like to know how this was achieved

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
surfbored
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 01/08/2005
Posts: 576
Posted: 08/08/2006 at 12:43pm | IP Logged Quote surfbored

lizardman wrote:

...I'd love to know what values you used to create the isometric camera!...


I wish I could say there was some magic here, but there isn't.

First, I have to repeat that these settings do not create a TRUE isometric object. Vue does not support isometric renders. However, I think they're close enough for use within DJ.

The camera settings that are important are the XYZ positioning. Which are as follows:

X: 254.507
Y: -317.973
Z: 406.362

"How did I come by these" you might ask? I got a screen capture of some buildings from some of my favorite games (e.g. AOE) and then super-imposed them to compare angles. Again, no magic. Just a lot of trial and error before I decided on the settings that looked best to me.

SB

Back to Top View surfbored's Profile Search for other posts by surfbored
 
lizardman
Hireling
Hireling


Joined: 08/07/2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 2
Posted: 08/08/2006 at 7:46pm | IP Logged Quote lizardman

surfbored thanks for the explanation! In between somebody explained me a different method on another forum ...
Use one of the orthogonal viewports (i.e. front, side or top) and rotate the object instead of the camera. This way you get a true isometric view. This works in every 3D package even if it doesn't have an isometric camera.

For example set the camera to Pitch:335, Yaw:335 and Roll:315 to have an isometric view in the side view port.

PS: It's odd however ... yesterday I've tried it with the mentioned values and I had a perfect isometric cube. Today it seems I cannot get it exactly the same anymore.
Back to Top View lizardman's Profile Search for other posts by lizardman
 
surfbored
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 01/08/2005
Posts: 576
Posted: 08/09/2006 at 5:37am | IP Logged Quote surfbored

lizardman:

I'm not surprised that you're having trouble getting a perfect isometric cube. Vue, according to E-On's tech support, does not support isometric renders because it always imposes some type of "depth of field" (or some such "thing"?).

Which is why I set my camera exactly where it is and then never move it. I just rotate the object I'm rendering, starting at 0 degrees, then 90 degrees, then 180 degrees, then 270 degrees.

This allows me to spin every object 360 degrees and they all have generally the same angles.

Also important is the object not have sides that are very long. The longer the sides the more obvious the depth of field. That is, you can tell a long building is disapperaing to a horizon point more easily than you can tell a narrow building is.

Which is why you don't see a lot of posts from me that have long walls, hedges or the like.

SB


Back to Top View surfbored's Profile Search for other posts by surfbored
 
Darkness
Janni
Janni
Avatar

Joined: 01/02/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1167
Posted: 08/09/2006 at 8:34am | IP Logged Quote Darkness

I am so glad I use Viz.
Back to Top View Darkness's Profile Search for other posts by Darkness
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 10:38am | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

Hey Surfbored, the setup works great. Next question, how to you save the file with the shadow intact and transparent as your iso pack shows?

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Kepli
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16312
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 10:46am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Render and save the PSD file (setting to create it) and let it save the Shadow and Alpha channels too.

You can also render as PNG and set the ground as "not include in rendering". This will result in a transparent background. Then add your own shadow.

Edited by Kepli on 09/17/2006 at 10:47am


__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 10:55am | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

Thanks Kep. Saving as PSD is what I was missing I think. I'll give that a try.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:13am | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

Well, I'm still not getting it. When I render and save as PSD there's no separate shadow layer or channel.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Bludragn
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 02/02/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2379
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:17am | IP Logged Quote Bludragn

Steel Rat,
I save the image as a PNG file and have to move the shadow to a different layer, turn it black then transparent it 50%. I then softent the shadow and add back to the objects after removing all background colors.

If you dont want the shadow, in VUE, just make the ground transparent and save as PNG.

Blu
Back to Top View Bludragn's Profile Search for other posts by Bludragn
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:21am | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

I do want the shadow, but the shadow comes out on a white background whether I save as PNG or PSD. No layers are present, only the background.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Kepli
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16312
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:45am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

What version of Vue do you use SR?
Esprit cannot save with a transparent background ...
Infinite can.

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Bludragn
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 02/02/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2379
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:48am | IP Logged Quote Bludragn

Yea, Kep is right about Espirit, you cant do transparent backgrounds in PNG. (I so enjoyed that Infinity demo) but its workable in Espirit.
Back to Top View Bludragn's Profile Search for other posts by Bludragn
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:49am | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

I have Infinite. In Esprit you have to save the alpha separately, I know that much, lol.

I figured it out, I have to go into the multipass options and select the shadows and PSD option.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Kepli
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16312
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 11:57am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Correct SR

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 12:07pm | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

Actually that's still not it. The shadow isn't on a transparent layer

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Kepli
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16312
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 12:20pm | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Also correct ... I copy the black and paste it on a transparent layer. Then make the black transparent to become a shadow

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 12:37pm | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

You lost me. The shadow ends up on a white background. I've tried selecting it and pasting it separately onto a separate layer, but it never selects right.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
dragonwolf
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 02/22/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1444
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 1:05pm | IP Logged Quote dragonwolf

Sounds like Kepli needs to add to his tutorial list.

__________________
dragonwolf
Posted outside my cube:

     Free Advice: If you come into my cube and you have a Mountain Dew and I do not, that will be your unDewing.

Back to Top View dragonwolf's Profile Search for other posts by dragonwolf
 
Bludragn
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 02/02/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2379
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 1:26pm | IP Logged Quote Bludragn

I would create a tutorial but I use PSP 11 and most people here use Photoshop.
Back to Top View Bludragn's Profile Search for other posts by Bludragn
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 1:43pm | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

I use Gimp too, most of the time in fact. But I find it doesn't necessarily read PSD files properly created from other programs.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Bludragn
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 02/02/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2379
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 1:45pm | IP Logged Quote Bludragn

SR,
I can post a Zip of a PSD file made in PSP that you can look at as to how I do it?
Back to Top View Bludragn's Profile Search for other posts by Bludragn
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 1:59pm | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

I guess, but I'm still not sure how that will get me there, lol.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Bludragn
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 02/02/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2379
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 2:19pm | IP Logged Quote Bludragn

This is a small Vue Espirit render but a good example.
I saved the layers as PSD.
FBA_Castle_Blu.zip
you should see 4 layers in this and the top tow layers when finished will merge deleting the bottom two layers.

Blu
Back to Top View Bludragn's Profile Search for other posts by Bludragn
 
Steel Rat
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/19/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1624
Posted: 09/17/2006 at 2:37pm | IP Logged Quote Steel Rat

Is see all that, but the fundamental problem is getting the shadow intact onto a transparent layer. Vue isn't doing that by default.

__________________
Steel Rat
HDRPG
RPGMapShare.com - Maps and Mapping objects
Back to Top View Steel Rat's Profile Search for other posts by Steel Rat Visit Steel Rat's Homepage
 
Vik316
Hireling
Hireling


Joined: 06/14/2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 1
Posted: 06/14/2008 at 1:32am | IP Logged Quote Vik316

Hi!!

I'm new in this forum, and I notice that you were talking about Vue and the Isometric camera (which, by the way, that's exactly what I was looking for ).
Just one question:
what if I wanna render a scene with an isometric camera, but I wanted to b animated. Can I render it in any other format?
Back to Top View Vik316's Profile Search for other posts by Vik316
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.